Illustrator Tutorial – Tracing

Standard

In today’s tutorial we learned how to use the tracing tool and pen tool to trace images to turn them from a raster image to a vector image in Illustrator.

We started off by inserting an image into illustrator (the ice-cream). Then I opened the Image Trace window and, with the image selected, played around with the settings to make a vector image from the raster image I had inserted.

I then inserted another image and changed the settings so that the flower appeared to be in grayscale and I limited the amount of colours it would pick up.

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 10.26.39Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 10.26.38

Our next task was to trace a Starbucks logo in Illustrator using the pen tool and Direct selection tool. I started by making the crown of the mermaid by manually making the curves using the direct selection tool. From previous knowledge of Illustrator I know that I could use the Anchor Point Tool. I would use the pen tool to outline the basic points of the logo. I would then use the Anchor Point Tool to manipulate the lines to make them into curves. This seemed to speed up my work flow a lot.

The final process was to use the Shape Builder Tool to delete the mouth and eyes from the white head shape. Then to finish it off I made sure that it did not go over the circle outline by holding alt and selecting the edges that came off the sides of the circle.

I then exported the image as a .png file

Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 11.32.57Screen Shot 2014-11-27 at 11.04.58 starbucks logo

Leave a Reply

