Task 2 – Temporal Expressions

Standard

Part 1

The aim of this task was to gain photography skills using DLSR cameras to create photography based on the styles of artists and photography techniques . We needed to create a ‘joiner-image’ in the style of the artist David Hockney.

David Hockney

After looking at some of the work by Hockney I realised that he had successfully used a series of images to make one larger image. He had effectively used texture and perspective to make an interesting collage. Using the joiner-image technique he could make a simple or plain scene into a unique and exciting collage of images. By not cropping or manipulating the images apart from their position in the collage, he had created a realistic but eye-catching piece of art by gathering many images together of a scene.

To make this effect I would need to pick a relatively ordinary scene and take many images of the scene to create an interesting and aesthetically pleasing collage by positing all the images in a creative way.

joiner image

My attempt of making a joiner image was just a small test to see how the collage worked. Firstly, to stick with the ‘cycle’ theme, I had an idea to choose a clock to photograph. This is because of the repeating hours that occur in a 24 hour period and the motion of the moving hands around a clock face. I quickly took some photos of the clock from different positions and then added them into Photoshop to combine the images to replicate the image of a clock. I think it turned out better than I had thought as the reflection of the light on the face of the clock gives the images some character and unique qualities that make it look specially like a joiner image and not images combined together to create an exact photo of a clock.

Part 2

The second part of this task was to take some photographs that exploited long exposure. For example light paintings,
motion-blur and slit-scan. I did some research on how to create this style of photograph using my Canon DLSR by changing the aperture, shutter speed and ISO of my camera.

Firstly I researched some ideas on how to effectively use long exposure in photography. I typed long exposure photography into Google Images and gathered some ideas on how I could use light and movement to make an interesting looking photograph.

Screen Shot 2014-11-08 at 00.27.58

I looked at my camera’s instructions to remind myself how to use my DSLR camera to change the setting I needed to make these photos. The next step was to go outside and take some photos with some help to create the light paintings and motion blur images. We tried to use a circular motion to stick to the theme of ‘cycle’ and created some light paintings that ended up looking really effective.

The images below are some of the images we created. We took some random images to be able to check the settings of my camera and test the most effective way to make motion blur and light paintings.

Outcome

From this task I have learnt to experiment using the different setting and option I have on a camera to make something unique and aesthetically pleasing. Looking at popular artists works gave me inspiration and the chance to replicate pieces of their work in my own way. I used a combination of photography and Photoshop skills to create these images and I am pleased with how they turned out considering I was experimenting with aperture, composition and shutter speed throughout this task.

References

Hockney, D. Photographic Collages. Available: http://www.hockneypictures.com/photos/photos_collages.php. Last accessed October 20th 2014.

Leave a Reply

